A Year in Books

This blog is primarily focused on issues of importance to me in my work, and so this post is a bit of a departure, but I thought perhaps an interesting one. I read a lot of interesting articles, white papers, and the occasional book for work; but when I’m not at work, I read a lot. About all sorts of things.

A good friend posted a list of the books she read this past year, and I thought that I would do the same. Since I didn’t actually keep track throughout the year, here are just a few of the recent reads I can remember. I also thought it would be fun to include those books already in the queue for 2010.

What other books do you think I should add to my list, and what will you be reading this year?

Recently Read

  • Just How Stupid Are We by Rick Shenkman
  • The Zookeeper’s Wife: A War Story by Diane Ackerman
  • Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
  • The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Paper Daughter: A Memoir by M. Elaine Mar
  • Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali
  • SuperFreakonomics: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes, and Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner
  • God Says No by James Hannaham

In Progress

  • What is the What by Dave Eggers
  • The Big Switch: Rewiring the World, From Edison to Google by Nicholas Carr
  • The First 90 Days by Michael Watkins

In the Queue (in no particular order)

  • No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July
  • The Undercover Economist by Tim Harford
  • The Ministry of Pain by Dubravka Ugresic
  • We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families: Stories from Rwanda by Philip Gourevitch
  • White Noise by Don DeLillo
  • The White Album by Joan Didion
  • Full Frontal Feminism: A Young Woman’s Guide to Why Feminism Matters by Jessica Valenti
  • Blood Done Sign My Name: A True Story by Timothy B. Tyson
1 Response to “A Year in Books”


  1. 1 Melissa January 5, 2010 at 6:59 am

    What is the What is haunting. I’m reading Shop Class as Soulcraft, which is probably blasphemous for an academic but I’m enjoying it regardless.


Leave a Reply

@rclemmons on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers


